Education

News Trading Rules for Funded Traders

What a blackout window is, and where to read the firm's version.

Funding models:EvaluationInstant
ProprietaryTrading.com Editorial Team·Sep 17, 2026·2 min read or listen
Listen to this article

A news rule is a restriction on opening, closing, or holding through listed economic releases. The window is the firm's. This page does not name who bans news. That list changes, and inventing it here would be wrong.

What a blackout window is

A typical window is a number of minutes before and after a named event (CPI, NFP, FOMC, and the rest of that firm's calendar). Some rulebooks freeze only the affected product; some freeze the account. Some apply to new orders only; some to flattening. Copy the firm's version into your plan. Glossary: /glossary/news-trading.

What our directory shows

Each firm profile answers "News trading allowed" with yes, no, or not stated. You will see the same answer as the "News trading" row in /compare, and it decides which firms appear on /directory/news-trading (firms we currently have as permitted). A yes does not mean there is no window. A no does not tell you the length of the window. Not stated means we have not confirmed the firm's policy yet. Always open the rulebook.

Match uses the same yes/no as a scoring input for some styles. It is still not a calendar.

What to do with it

If your edge is the release itself, a firm that restricts the window is not a fit — confirm on the profile, then in the rulebook, then walk. If you do not trade news, you can still breach by holding into a freeze or by flattening inside it. Write the window into /article/building-a-trading-plan. Size with /article/position-sizing-math so a spike cannot spend the daily loss before you are allowed to act. /article/understanding-drawdowns if the floor is trailing through the event.

A longer industry read, with examples, lives on News: /article/prop-firm-news-trading-rules-explained. This explainer is the field guide. That post is the analysis. Do not treat either as a live ban list.

Next

Filter /directory/news-trading if you need permission as a starting set, then confirm each rulebook. /compare for two names. /match if you are still choosing. /glossary/news-trading.

FAQ

Q: Which firms ban news trading? A: We will not print a ban list here. Use the Directory field, /directory/news-trading for firms marked permitted, Compare's news row, and the firm's current rulebook.

Q: If Compare says news trading is permitted, can I trade NFP? A: Not from that row alone. Permitted means our yes/no is true. The window, the products, and whether you may open or only hold are in the rulebook.

Popular firms

  • Apex Trader Funding

    Austin, USA

    Model
    Evaluation
    Split
    100%
    Payouts
    Up to weekly: request after every 5 qualifying trading days (EOD PA: max 6 payouts per account)
    Max
    $300,000
  • Topstep

    Chicago, USA

    Model
    Evaluation
    Split
    90%
    Payouts
    Each time the XFA payout requirement is met (5 winning days Standard / 3 days Consistency); daily, uncapped after 30 winning Live days
    Max
    $150,000
  • FTMO

    Prague, Czech Republic

    Model
    Evaluation
    Split
    90%
    Payouts
    On-demand (default 14 days, weekly available)
    Max
    $200,000
  • My Funded Futures

    Charlotte, USA

    Model
    Evaluation
    Split
    90%
    Payouts
    Varies by plan: daily (Rapid, Rapid EOD), every 48 hours (Builder), every 2 weeks (Pro), any time (Studio)
    Max
    $150,000
  • FundedNext

    Dubai, UAE

    Model
    Evaluation + Instant Funding
    Split
    95%
    Payouts
    Stellar 1-Step every 5 business days; 2-Step 21 days then 14; Lite 10 days; Instant on demand/bi-weekly; futures daily–5 days
    Max
    $400,000
  • Belvedere Trading

    Chicago, USA

    Model
    Firm Capital
    Split
    50%
    Payouts
    Annual bonus
    Max
    Institutional only

Compare these side-by-side in the firm comparison tool or browse the full firm listings.

Related guides

Continue Learning